Posted in Uncategorized

Author interview with Ms Louisa Ibhaze

Really proud to present Louisa´s debut novel to you all, she is someone I went to school with and I can´t wait to see what else she has in store for us. I love the braids by the way 🙂

20160326_1937

What did you want to be when you grew up?-First my full name is Olunosen Louisa Ibhaze. As a child I wanted to be many things when I grew up, First a Doctor, then a lawyer, later and Astronaut and many other things.

What is your favorite genre and what drew you to it?-I read all sorts of books but these days I seem to be drifting towards Literary fiction. What draws me to a particular book is depth of the story and the ability to create memorable characters, I can easily relate to especially women.

 When did you start writing in a professional way?-Writing came naturally to me from child hood, I had a very active imagination. As a child, I remember drawing comics for my friends to read in primary school and then in secondary school, I started writing novellas. My first novel was published long after that in 2005.

Do you have a specific writing method or ritual? How many hours do you devote to writing every day?-No I don’t. I write at any time of the day. Sometimes I go for days and weeks without writing and at other times I write for hours and days nonstop.

 What part of writing do you enjoy most?-Creating memorable characters through humorous and sometimes deep dialogue.

 How do you develop your characters?I always strive for uniqueness. That’s what makes my characters hard to forget.

Which of the characters in any of your books mean the most to you and why?For now, that would be Paulina Omoregbe a.k.a Authentic Mama, from my newest book Authentic Mama.When I think of her , I see hard work and human imperfection with a strong and amazing spirit.

IMG_20160221_174757_783

 What are your aspirations as a writer and where do you see yourself in five years time?Like many writers, I aim for the best and hope to find good literary Agents and great publishers who would take my books to greater heights. I also aspire to write better stories.

 Which author has influenced your writing most?-Chinua Achebe, Buchi Emecheta, Sidney Sheldon, Jackie Collins, Debbie Macomber, Danielle Steel , VC Andrews the list is endless.

 If you could go back in time and rewrite a known work of fiction, which would it be? Would you change the end? What would your alternative be?That would definitely be any book by Sidney Sheldon and no I would not change the end.

 What would you like to say to your readers?Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !

 Fun facts:

  • A colour- All colours, the world should be beautiful !
  • A day of the year- My birthday of course 10th of May
  • A favourite recipe- None
  • A movie- Pretty Woman
  • A song- More Than A Woman’’ by the Bee Gees
Author:

Author of I stand corrected, When I grow up... Bienvenidos a gatos anónimos, Pasarse cuatro Pueblos and Sesenta segundos dan para mucho, Patricia Asedegbega Nieto was born to a Spanish mother and a Nigerian father in Madrid. As a child, she relocated with her family to Nigeria and later returned to Spain, where she acquired her BSc and master´s degree. She is currently living near Madrid with her family and her very stubborn cat, Merlin Mojito.

2 thoughts on “Author interview with Ms Louisa Ibhaze

Leave a Reply

