Posted in Uncategorized

Author interview with Tracey Sinclair

Tracey Sinclair is a freelance writer, author, playwright and editor. The Cassandra Bick/Dark Dates books start with Dark Dates. Her latest books are Angel Falls and A Vampire in New York and Other Stories.

Author image.JPG

– What did you want to be when you grew up?

 I always wanted to be a writer – I remember making up stories from a very young age. But I was also quite a macabre child, and for a time I wanted to be a hitwoman or a vampire! Though that was only if I couldn’t be Wonder Woman or one of Charlie’s Angels…

 -What is your favorite genre and what drew you to it?

 To read, I like a whole range of genres – crime, historical fiction, urban fantasy – and I’ll give pretty much anything a go. For writing, I’ve also crossed genres – romance, urban fantasy, contemporary literary fiction. I tend to be attracted to a story and just write it, then worry about which genre it fits into later!

 – When did you start writing in a professional way?

 I can’t remember not writing, but I got my first story published in a magazine when I was 17.

 – Do you have a specific writing method or ritual? How many hours do you devote to writing every day?

 I write all my fiction in longhand, and before I start a project I write a lot of scenes, that may or may not make it into the end result, but which help me flesh out the characters. In terms of how much time I spend daily, that depends on where I am in a project and what my other commitments are – sometimes it can be 15 minutes squeezed in around other stuff, sometimes the whole day.

 -What part of writing do you enjoy most?

 I like the early stages – playing around with the characters, writing scenes – and then I like the final stages, when everything comes together. The bit in the middle can be tricky!

 -How do you develop your characters?

 Honestly, I find they mostly develop themselves. As I said, I write a lot of sketches and scenes, but my work tends to be more character than plot based – I think of the characters first, then the story develops around them.

 -Which of the characters in any of your books mean the most to you and why?

 My Dark Dates characters – all of them! Just because I didn’t really expect to be writing these books and I fell in love with them, and people seem to like the characters a lot, which is always a nice feeling. And they are just so much fun to write.

Angel Falls 1_edited-1.jpg

 -What are your aspirations as a writer and where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

 I think like most writers, I’d obviously love to be on the bestseller lists, but really as long as I can keep writing – in a range of formats and genres – and somebody, somewhere, reads my books or goes to see my plays, then that’ll be enough!

 -Which author has influenced your writing most?

I think it’s a mishmash of influences. When I started out, it was contemporary writers like AL Kennedy – you can probably see her influence in my earlier short stories – and then when I moved to urban fantasy it was a mix of authors like Jim Butcher, but primarily TV writers and shows, like Joss Whedon, Kevin Williamson and Supernatural: that kind of self-aware, funny and slightly snarky writing.

 -What would you like to say to your readers?

 Thanks for coming along for the ride!

 Fun facts:

A colour- I’m a magpie so obsessed with anything shiny.

A day of the year- start of September – always feels like a new term

A favourite recipe- I don’t cook, so cheese on toast!

A movie -Aliens

A song- The Art Teacher, Rufus Wainwright

A quote- “She saved the world. A lot.” – Buffy’s tombstone

Social media links:

@thriftygal

www.facebook.com/darkdates

darkdates.org

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/510122.Tracey_Sinclair

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Angel-Falls-Cassandra-Bick-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B01AMOGRBY/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01AYOPFY2

Author:

Author of I stand corrected, When I grow up... Bienvenidos a gatos anónimos, Pasarse cuatro Pueblos and Sesenta segundos dan para mucho, Patricia Asedegbega Nieto was born to a Spanish mother and a Nigerian father in Madrid. As a child, she relocated with her family to Nigeria and later returned to Spain, where she acquired her BSc and master´s degree. She is currently living near Madrid with her family and her very stubborn cat, Merlin Mojito.

One thought on “Author interview with Tracey Sinclair

Leave a Reply

